Orazio Attanasio elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 19, 2023

Orazio Attanasio, Cowles Professor of Economics and EGC affiliate, has been elected as a new member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in recognition of his contributions to economics, the academy announced on April 19.

Along with 268 other intellectuals, artists, writers, and distinguished leaders, Attanasio joins one of the nation's oldest learned societies. "With the election of these members, the Academy is honoring excellence, innovation, and leadership and recognizing a broad array of stellar accomplishments," David Oxtoby, president of the American Academy, said in a statement. "We hope every new member celebrates this achievement and joins our work advancing the common good."

"I am honored and thrilled to receive this recognition from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences," Attanasio said. "I see it as an opportunity to engage further with scholars from different disciplines and explore new ways to advance our understanding of important economic issues."

His research interests include household consumption; saving and labor supply behavior; risk sharing; evaluation and design of policies in developing countries; human capital accumulation in developing countries; early-years interventions; micro-credit; and measurement tools in surveys.

He has carried out evaluations of education financing and access programs, including large conditional cash transfer programs, the impact of scholarships on school enrollment, and the effect of subjective expectations on education choices. 

"My recent research has been focused on child development, measurement issues in economics, and inequality. I am excited to continue working on research that sheds light on these issues and informs policies that promote greater economic and social mobility."

Attanasio joins several other EGC affiliates elected in past years, including Dirk Bergemann, Pinelopi Goldberg, Samuel Kortum, Costas Meghir, Rohini Pande, and Mark Rosenzweig.

"In its earliest days, the Academy sought members who would help address issues and opportunities confronting a young nation," said Nancy C. Andrews, Chair of the Academy's Board of Directors. "We feel a similar urgency and have elected a class that brings diverse expertise to meet the pressing challenges and possibilities that America and the world face today."

Attanasio joins eight other Yale scholars in this year's class: Claire L. Bowern, Hazel Carby, Kerwin K. Charles, James Forman Jr., Dr. Jorge Galan. T Leonid Glazman, Yair Minsky, and Priyamvada Natarajan. Read the full Yale News Story here: Nine Yale scholars elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences, founded in 1780, is an honorary society that recognizes and celebrates the excellence of its members and an independent research center convening leaders from across disciplines, professions, and perspectives to address significant challenges.