Department of Economics

The Economic History Program is an activity of the Economic Growth Center and is organized by economic historians in the Department of Economics. They include:

José Antonio Espín Sánchez
Assistant Professor of Economics
Economic history, Industrial organization, Environmental economics, Economic theory, Political economy

Timothy Guinnane
Director, Program in Economic History
Philip Golden Bartlett Professor of Economics and History
Demographic and financial history of Western Europe
Naomi Lamoreaux (*) 
Professor of Economics and History
Intellectual property, U.S. business history, historical business law

Benjamin Polak (**)
William C. Brainard Professor of Economics
Professor of Economics and Management
Economic theory and economic history

Postdoctoral Appointee

Sun Kyoung Lee 

Faculty outside the Department of Economics


Fabian Drixler
David Engerman
Noel Lenski (***)
J.G. Manning (***)
Keith Wrightson

Yale Law School

Henry B. Hansmann
Jonathan R. Macey
Claire Priest

Yale School of Management

William B. English
William N. Goetzmann
Gary B. Gorton
K. Geert Rouwenhorst

 * Has primary appointments in Economics and History
** Has primary appointments in Economics and the School of Management
*** Has primary appointments in History and Classics